We have many different Training Centres, from the Midlands to Middlesex.

The CBT course involves five elements:

  1. Introduction.
  2. Practical on-site training (Bike Maintenance, Controls etc).
  3. Practical on-site riding.
  4. Theory / Highway Code.
  5. Practical on-road riding.

The five elements have to be completed in sequence, although the order of the exercises within the element can be varied. You will only move on to the next element when your instructor is satisfied you have learnt the necessary theory and demonstrated the practical skills to a safe basic level.

When all five elements have been satisfactorily completed (this may take more than one day), a certificate of completion, called the DL196, is issued. This is a legal document which validates the relevant entitlements on your driving licence.

Once you have your certificate you are entitles to ride anything upto a 125cc motorcycle or scooter, providing you display L plates.

Compulsory basic training (CBT) was introduced to help reduce the high accident rate among inexperienced motorcyclists. A CBT must be completed before a learner moped or motorcycle rider is allowed to ride on the road with L-plates.

Upon successful completion of this you’ll be allowed to drive up to a 125cc motorcycle for 2 years, on L plates. You can either stick with this and redo it every two years, ride a 125cc motorcycle or scooter for a while to gain some extra experience, or go directly onto the Direct Access from here.